Another five stars for the new-generation Mazda6

The Mazda6 is now officially one of the safest cars available across the globe.  It now carries the highest possible safety ratings in Europe, Japan, Australia and the U.S.

Mazda Motor Corporation has announced that the Mazda6 has been awarded the maximum five-star overall rating by the US National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s new car assessment program (NHTS-NCAP)*1.

The Mazda6 received five stars from Euro NCAP*2 last September before getting another maximum grade from Japanese counterpart JNCAP*3 two months later. ANCAP*4 also awarded five stars in November for all model variants available in Australia and New Zealand. Then, in December, the IIHS*5 in the U.S. gave the Mazda6 its best possible Top Safety Pick+ rating.

Andrew Clearwater, Managing Director of Mazda New Zealand, believes when driving the Mazda6 you immediately notice the difference the cutting edge i-ACTIVSENSE and SKYACTIV technology brings to the safety of the drive.

“Safety is at the core of everything we do when producing a vehicle so to have it recognised with such critical acclaim globally reinforces that we are achieving exactly what we set out to do,” he says.

The Mazda6 is Mazda’s flagship model, fully adopting the company’s next-generation SKYACTIV TECHNOLOGY and new design theme, KODO-Soul of Motion.  Since global launches began in November 2012, the model has received high acclaim for its dynamic design, and its ability to deliver both exceptional environmental and safety performance, and powerful and exhilarating driving.

The model’s excellent safety performance has now been verified by third party assessments in Japan, Australia, Europe and the USA.

Mazda’s safety philosophy, ‘Mazda Proactive Safety’ aims to minimize the risks that lead to accidents and maximize the range of conditions in which the driver can drive safely, and Mazda vehicles offer outstanding safety performance based on this philosophy.

In pursuit of the ultimate aim of a collision-free automotive society, Mazda will continue researching, developing and incorporating new safety technologies into its products, providing customers with both driving pleasure and outstanding environmental and safety performance.

Mazda6 has received the following assessments.  (Overall safety ratings are shown)

September 2013

Euro NCAP*2 (2013 rating)


November 2013

JNCAP*3 (2013-2014)

Five Star Award

November 2013



December 2013

IIHS*5 (2014)

2014 Top Safety Pick + (Plus)

February 2014

NHTSA-NCAP*1 (2014 model year)


*1 National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s New Car Assessment Program.
*2 European New Car Assessment Program: An independent agency comprised of the transport authorities of European countries, etc. It has awarded automotive crash safety ratings since 1997.
*3 Japan New Car Assessment Program: Vehicle collision safety performance evaluations conducted by the National Agency of Automotive Safety and Victims’ Aid.
*4 ANCAP: Australasian New Car Assessment Program, Australia’s leading independent vehicle safety advocate
*5 Insurance Institute for Highway Safety: independent non-profit organization funded by auto insurers to evaluate vehicle safety.

For more information about SKYACTIV TECHNOLOGY, please visit:

BT-50 commercialcare disclaimer

** is also available to new BT-50 owners where every scheduled service completed by Mazda specialist technicians for a 3 year/100,000km term (whichever wherever occurs first) will cost no more than $200 (incl. GST) per service for models built after 1 November 2012. *** 3,350kg applies to earlier models.

* whichever occurs first